A Letter from an Audience member in Kitchener

The Double closed in Kitchener at the MT Space last weekend. In three short days we transformed a black rehearsal hall into a theatre and were met by extraordinary audiences. Here’s a note from an audience member who saw the show on closing night:

“Dear MT Space,

I just wanted to write and thank you for the amazing entertainment we received last Saturday with the final performance of The Double.

When my wife and I moved to KW a few years ago, one of our concerns was the possibility that a city of this size might not offer us the kind of cultural opportunities that can be found in major cities. While this is true to some degree, organizations like MT Space have allowed us to enjoy first rate theatre within walking distance. We were both incredibly impressed with all aspects of the show – the writing, the acting and the technical aspects were all great. My wife commented that the “ventriloquism” scene in particular was absolutely brilliant both in conception and delivery, and I couldn’t agree more.

My only regret is that I didn’t stand during the applause. I hate to think of all the mediocre performances I’ve been pressured into standing for at large, expensive theatres, and yet on Saturday, when I felt the actors truly deserved a standing ovation, I wasn’t brave enough to give them one. If you could pass along my apologies for that mistake to TheatreRUN, I’d appreciate it.

Thanks again. I look forward to seeing more from you in the future, especially at the Impact festival this fall.

Best,
Jonathan”

We want to give many thanks to The Double team, to Majdi and everyone as MT Space and to Richard Rose and Andrea Romaldi at the Tarragon theatre for their continued support of the project. Stay tuned for more Double news closer to the Fall.

Here’s a look at how it all came together:

Andre du Toit during hang and focus

Andre du Toit during hang and focus

Andre Du Toit Focusing

Andre Du Toit Focusing

The final result

The final result

Arif and Norah

Arif and Norah

 

 

 

Posted on April 24, 2013, in Homepage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

